A forum for the Port Luskan role play

It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:20 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:38 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Ohio, USA
Hi all, in addition to having group RP in SL, we would love to see some happening here. The floor is open for suggestions for days/times when we might meet in chat for some role play fun!

_________________
That was no crash: That was a premature landing at an unfavorable angle. - Charlie Sotich, U.S. kiteflyer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:07 pm
Posts: 5
We'll probably want a rotating schedule instead of always the same day(s)/times, otherwise there are sure to be people who can never make it! At least have an alternating weekend - Saturday one week, Sunday the next. Tuesdays might make a good forum/chat RP day since WoW is down several hours for updates.

It might help to start with declaring who's time zone is our base time so we (I) don't go around stating "well how about 12-3, that's 3-6 for Marae and something like 8-11pm for UK unless I have that wrong again... do we have anybody in Australia I need to worry about being up at 3am?"

My suggestion there would be to use Marae's time zone as base since she's in the middle (of most of us) and its her forum. That and I would not have to be constantly remembering just how many hours to add to get the UK time...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:38 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Ohio, USA
The forum time is officially GMT, Tora, since we have a large contingency in the UK. But if you say "SL time" (Second Life time, which is your time), we pretty much all know what that means. (You can all set the forum time to your own time zones, by the way, if you haven't done so already, in the User Control Panel.)

And just as you did in your example, Tora, I am planning to post the times in SLT, Eastern time, and UK time whenever I announce an event (although I don't expect the rest of you to do that). That way no one will have too many hours to add or subtract to figure out the time, unless, of course, they are in Australia. I confess, I have tried and I just can't quite get those time zones into my brain. Therefore, I am officially designating Budster Bashly as Keeper of the Australian Times. Feel free to add the time in Australia following any event announcement, Budster. If I see often enough "That's 1:30 a.m. here in Australia," I will get a better idea of what is reasonable and what isn't for you. ;)

I agree, a rotating schedule is a good idea, especially for large group rps. I am also hoping that people will make note of who can be around when, and perhaps message one another to plan smaller rps on their own. You can send a private message to up to 5 people, and unless they have changed something, a copy of the pm will go to their e-mail.

And just to set a good example, I can be available for RP pretty much any day, pretty much any time from around 6 a.m. SLT/9 a.m. EST/2 p.m. GMT until 8 p.m. SLT/11 p.m. EST/4 a.m. GMT.

_________________
That was no crash: That was a premature landing at an unfavorable angle. - Charlie Sotich, U.S. kiteflyer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:01 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Temple of the Moon
In obedience to the email, I'm responding with times I can rp. :)

I can be available most weekdays from 5pm SLT/8pm EST/1am GMT to 7:30pm SLT/10:30pm EST/3:30am GMT. It's a bit embarrassing to be putting such a small window of time, especially when you figure it's the smack dab middle of the night in the UK, but there it is. :oops: Also, I think I've figured the times correctly, but math was never my strong point. If the times seem off somehow, just let me know. My apologies to those in Australia, I didn't even try to figure that out. :oops:

Most Saturdays and Sundays, I am free and willing to plan for rp time, and my schedule is much more adaptable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 1
My best times for RP are a bit random lately but it's somewhere around 3pm SLT to 8am SLT. On Saturdays and Sundays I'm mostly on the same schedule but I could stay up later or wake up early for RP on those days.

Sorry I didn't reply to the emails earlier. :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Group RP in the forum
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:38 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Ohio, USA
I seriously did not expect anyone to reply to all four e-mails. Response to two or three would have been sufficient. :lol:

I am at present in the midst of moving, which involves a couple of trips back and forth between where I have good internet access and where I don't. I am currently at my mom's, on dial-up, and while the forum pages actually load pretty quickly, I am still moving at a snail's pace and tying up my mom's phone line to boot, so probably won't be doing any RP in here at least for the rest of this week. Come the weekend I might have a bit of time in between all the work I need to do back at the other end of things.

I am hoping to have the move completed and internet installed by the 19th, and thereafter will be more or less settling in.

That's a longish way of saying, don't wait for me, please, go RP with each other! If you are looking for Alyra, you can just figure that she is awake for the time being. ;)

_________________
That was no crash: That was a premature landing at an unfavorable angle. - Charlie Sotich, U.S. kiteflyer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group